Week #9 – Cemeteries

Grave of Mary Olivia Everitt Bingham, my great grandmother | Find A Grave

Genealogists understand the full value of cemeteries and appreciate them in ways most others can’t see. Share a cemetery or cemetery experience for which you are most thankful. What makes this place special? What does it mean to you and your family history?

This challenge runs from Sunday, February 26, 2012 through Saturday, March 3, 2012.

As a Brownie Scout, I recall tiptoeing through a cemetery toting paper and crayon. Nowadays, I’m told that’s not so good for the headstones. . . Yet, I happily discovered the Find A Grave site a few years ago. At the time, I was preparing for a presentation on Juliette Gordon Low and found her memorial on this website.

After that, I perused and located a number of ancestral graves as well as late relatives. I’ve even had a few opportunities to take pictures of my family members’ headstones. Of course, I’m grateful for all of the hard work and dedication these volunteers offer.

I’ve posted a photo of my great grandmother’s gravestone. While I’ve never set foot in this cemetery, Find A Grave has given me a glimpse of her grave and countless others.

Leave a comment